More than half of U.S. counties now drought disaster zones
August 1st, 2012
04:00 PM ET
Share this on:

More than half of all U.S. counties have been designated disaster zones, the Department of Agriculture reported, blaming excessive heat and a devastating drought that's spread across the Corn Belt and contributed to rising food prices.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack on Wednesday declared disaster zone designations for an additional 218 counties in 12 states because of damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat.

The states are Arkansas, Georgia, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee and Wyoming.

Read the full story - Historic drought puts over half of U.S. counties in disaster zones, USDA says

Posted by: ,
Filed under: Disaster • Drought • Environment • Heat • News

Next entry »

Comments are closed.

Next entry »
| Part of